“No Panty”, a Landay Poem – NaPoWriMo 2015, Day 19


And for today’s prompt (optional, as always!), I’d like to challenge you to write a landay. Landays are 22-syllable couplets, each has twenty-two syllables: NINE IN THE FIRST LINE, THIRTEEN IN THE SECOND, and  generally RHYMING. The form comes from Afghanistan, where women often use it in verses that range from the sly and HUMOROUS to the deeply sardonic and melancholy. Sex, marriage, love — all can be the same thing, Check out this long investigative article on landays for a fascinating look into a form of poetry often composed in secret, and rarely written down. You could try to write a single landay – a hard-hitting couplet that shares some secret (or unspoken) truth, or you could try to write a poem that strings MULTIPLE  LANDAYS TOGETHER LIKE STANZAS (maybe something akin to a syllabic ghazal?)


Warning : 

Words used in this poem are hard hitting, straight to the point, and vulgar  as the original Landays!


BE ON GUARD!


afghankids4-170712-630-jpg_122928

These are my single Landays :   1

.

Father, you sold me to the Taliban
Tomorrow, I will sell you in the market in can

                                                 2

Father, the Taliban has bought me
In an hour, your soul will depart, your flesh I will piss

This is my Multiple Landay in Stanzas :

.afghankids9-170712-630-jpg_122937

.

i saw you climbing an oasis tree
my sight guided me to your black triangled pantry
i stared again with fright up the tree
and I discovered you haven’t wore  any panty
.
i called you to come down from the tree
turbanned, bearded older males would pass you, they might see 
they think it’s a cell phone and they’ll roar 
it’s forbidden; here’s the money you buy a razor
.
short, strong and sharp, your pubic grasses
will cause laceration on the organ and infects
worms will swarm, swim inside their testes
and voila! the unwashed goatees’ sperm is diluted..
–oOo–.
