“I Was Taken” – A Persona-Poem-Themed Poemeleon : NaPoWriMo 2015, Day 26


And now, for our prompt (optional, as always). Our last two prompts have been squarely in the silly zone – this one should give some scope to both the serious-minded and the silly among you. Today, I challenge you to write a persona poem – a poem in the voice of someone else. Your persona could be a mythological or fictional character, a historical figure, or even an inanimate object. Need some examples? Check out this persona-poem-themed issue of Poemeleon from a few years back.


.

columbarium-84995.
i hear your voice calling out the nurses
in panic, you ran outside the hospital room
then i heard voices from directions
just beside me shouting,
call the nurses
call the doctor
bubbles came out of my mouth
while a silver spoon was inserted
between my upper and lower sets of teeth
and the time rushed
and they arrived
i called my mother
i called my father
but they’re all looking at me
with a smile
and they arrived
all in white
with wings, with fogs so clean
and they’re bringing me to 
a kingdom i don’t know
there was a light
that pierced the clouds
and into me
i was taken
but from a distance above
i saw a body carried out
wrapped in white cloth…
it was me
i saw tears not only one
but thousands as if to overflow
the night while i lay
waiting to be lifted
and carried away
to be cleaned and
put to a wooden box
of white
prayers were said
masses were held
but i laid there with make-up
inside a box with a glass window
i saw friends, classmates, teachers
relatives,bothers,sisters,nieces
 in-laws and neighbors
took their turns to  see me
but i could not move
the last day came 
the last prayers, the last mass
they lifted me out of the box
put me on the stainless metal table
and threw fire at me
as if they wanted
to be sure that i am already
a cold lifeless matter
my skin began to blister
and i couldn’t perspire
until flesh and bones
were turned to ashes
weighed how light i was,
put me in a plastic bag
and into a brass urn they kept me
and stored me in a Columbary
my final resting place
on earth…
–oOo–
2 thoughts on ““I Was Taken” – A Persona-Poem-Themed Poemeleon : NaPoWriMo 2015, Day 26

Comments are closed.