“Thank You, Surallah for being a safe place for visitors like me. I did not notice the rains pouring” — Surallah, South Cotabato, Philippines


In my desire to see Lake Sebu in South Cotabato, I really made the effort to take a visit of the serene lake even though I have already passed it the other day on my way to Gen San from  Malaybalay, Bukidnon. I thought that, I am already in Mindanao, so, why don’t I drop anchor at Lake Sebu town and see if write- ups about the lake are true. So, some preparations were made and framed some thoughts to be aware always of the road, thoroughfares and other passageways that the bus would pass. News then were not so kind to the place. Killings in one particular town in Mindanao were always a highlight on media and it dragged the whole island of Mindanao to be a terrorist lair frequented by groups to terrorizing the populace and scaring away visitors and would-be investors of the place. But to my amazement, development of the place was catching up the boom. The highways were wide and concrete. The picture of the place was aberrant to my thinking that it was a rugged and rural town. I was mistaken. And this is Surallah, a progressive municipality, and first class at that. This is the jump off point going to Lake Sebu. Tourism was the primary reason for the growth of Surallah but it was also the cause of its reduction in terms of land area where Lake Sebu became a municipality, thus, trimming down its hectares of lands.

As I walked and took a seat in the jeepney, majority of the passengers were talking and conversing in Ilonggo and that was the time I stopped being mindful of everything going on. Even the driver was Bisaya. I started to feel I was in the right place at the right time. I was in good hands. It was also the time I talked in Tagalog. “Thank You, Surallah for being a safe place for visitors like me. I did not notice the rains pouring”.

–oOo–

2 thoughts on ““Thank You, Surallah for being a safe place for visitors like me. I did not notice the rains pouring” — Surallah, South Cotabato, Philippines

Comments are closed.