“Wring My Ear” – NaPoWriMo, Day 14

And now for our optional prompt! Today, I challenge you to write a poem that takes the form of a dialogue. Your conversant could be real people, or be personifications, as in Andrew Marvell’s A Dialogue Between the Soul and the Body, or Yeats’ A Dialogue of Self and Soul. Like Marvell, and Yeats, you could alternate stanzas between your two speakers, or perhaps you could give them alternating lines. Your speakers could be personifications, like those in Marvell and Yeats’ poems, or they could be two real people. Hopefully, this prompt will give you a chance to represent different points of view in the same poem, or possibly to create a dramatic sense of movement and tension within the poem.


I think I have written a similar one before –  https://thehutownerblog.wordpress.com/2015/03/24/my-other-soul-the-bad-wandering/
Here’s a new one. . .

 1268288_636840966337902_842651580_o

Myself.
“Not feeling you inside me, please wring my ear
something not absurd, go on, try a whisper
so your words could be felt by my blood”
.
“Throw some thoughts into my imagination
make me quiver, drive a sensation
you’re “the other one” of a body or just a flower bud”
.
“Trick me, lift this body and soar the universe
if not,… i just saw a fool on this hill
riding the epitome of  hypocrite”
.
Soul.
“Why should i, even Jesus did  not give in
to be hooked by Satan’s deceptive mouth
and to be slain by his whipping tongue”
.
“Throwing words unto you will never bite
the brain that’s in your head will always fight
the truth about “the other one” that’ll  depart”
.
“The fool will someday rule your world
for he believes the truth about a soul
will traverse from a cold body into heaven or hell”
.
Myself.
“Beliefs of mankind is their own choice
some cling to the premise seeing is believing
if you’re my soul, let me, it’s my freedom”
.
“I own my thoughts but your  mind isn’t mine
what to think and to believe still, i have to catch
asking some whispers and wrings, key to believing”
.
Soul.
“You stupid, bald-headed thick twin
actions of yours is my fatal destination
purgatory, hell or heaven, your moves, my afterlife”
 .
“Options, preferences, varieties of decisions
surrendering this unfruitful discussion
 a sinner or saint, your wish is my command”
–oOo–